MEDIA RELEASE 4th December 2016



Brockie wins his third Country Cup with another victory at Ballarat

By GRV Website

Local superstar Zambora Brockie (\$1.80) won the 2016 \$110,000 Energis Ballarat Cup on Friday night for Myrniong trainer Anthony Azzopardi.



Superstar Zambora Brockie races away to win the Ballarat Cup (All Pics Clint Anderson)

It's been a big couple of days for the former NSW trainer, who celebrated his birthday today by snaring his second group win in two days after Topper Terretto won the Puppy Championship at Dapto on Thursday night.

Tonight's win was fitting as not only did Zambora Brockie collect the \$77,000 first prize, he also won the \$50,000 country cups bonus, taking his night's work to \$127,000.

"He did it the hard way," Azzopardi said after the win. "He found trouble which cost his three or four lengths, but I knew when he got clear and straightened up he'd be hard to beat."

Zambora Brockie is the toast of the town.

"I'm very proud to call this my local track. We live only half an hour away and all the staff here are fantastic, as are all the people who have come out here tonight. All of the trainers and owners appreciate your support."

"It's a privilege to be a trainer in Victoria. I've raced in a lot of states and Victoria is 10 lengths clear of the rest," Azzopardi said.



Anthony said training his team of dogs was a team effort that involved the help of close friends and family.

After Zambora Brockie the runners in the field finished in the following order: Judicial Man (\$6.20), Weekend Binge (\$8.10), Black Mumbo (\$13.10), Diego Bale (\$27.40), Zinzan Brooke (\$5.40), American Monster (\$15.70) and Tiggerlong Cruz (\$41.20).

Zambora Brockie is raced by Charlie Azzopardi and trained by Anthony Azzopardi of Myrniong in Victoria. Zambora Brockie is a Black dog whelped September 2013 by Nitro Burst from Flying Liddy (Flying Stanley x

Crazy Jo). He has won 30 of his 48 starts and has been placed on nine occasions and with the \$77,000 first prize for the Ballarat Cup and \$50,000 Country Cups triple bonus it took his current stake earnings to \$563,133.

The Ballarat Cup was first held at the old Broadway Park complex in 1960 over 496 yards. The first winner was Rebby Boy a greyhound sired by Rookie Rebel listed below is the honour Roll of past winners.

1960 Rebby Boy, 1961 Dalemee, 1962 Eerie Town, 1963 Alrarniv 1964, 1965 Unknown, 1966 Unknown, 1967 Unknown, 1968 Baytown's Son, 1969 My Gina, 1970 1971 Fawn Metal, 1972 Master Caleb, 1973 She's My Girl, 1974 Fawn Capri, 1975 Ben Boro 1976 Ernie Diro, 1977 "Not Held", 1978 "Not Held", 1979 Nelson's Mate, 1980 Swift As Light, 1981 Johnny's Monaro, 1982 Satan's Shroud, 1983 Total Claim, 1984 Lady Lilly, 1985 Trisun, 1986 "Not Held", 1987 Shining Chariot, 1988 Kepler, 1989 Hay Dinney, 1990 Welcome Stranger, 1991 Malawi's Prince, 1992 Wild Pirate, 1993 Dallas Duo, 1994 Tivoli Man, 1995 Malawi Law, 1996 King Of Talent, 1997 Young Darren, 1998 Lansley Bale, 1999 Tom's Legacy, 2000 Puff Daddy, 2001 Carlisle Jack, 2002 Knockabout Wok, 2003 Puzzle Prize, 2004 Whisky Assassin and 2005 Magic Trance, 2006 Witch Magic, 2007 Go Wild Jack, 2008 Vee Man Vane and 2009 Dyna Lachlan, 2010 Greta Bale, 2011 Up and Away, 2012 Maverick Tiger and 2013 Ronan Izmir, 2014 Luca Neveelk and 2015 Shared Equity.

For more information please contact:

Neil Brown AGRA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234 Mob: 0423 129 950 nbrown@agra.com.au Howard Ashton AGRA Executive Officer Tel: 08 8243 7100 Mob: 0438 042 838